New Release: The Carbonite’s Daughter by Deryn Pittar

IFWG are very pleased to announce the release of New Zealand author, Deryn Pittar’s young adult dystopian novel, The Carbonite’s Daughter. We are also over the moon with the wonderful artwork by Anthony Christou, and the cover design by Greg Chapman.

Deryn and her novel has a very close tie to IFWG, as, for a number of years, we ran an online ezine of short fiction, SQ Mag, and each year we ran a short fiction contest called ‘Story Quest’. Pittar won the 2014 contest with her wonderful short piece, ‘The Carbonite’s Daughter’. Unbeknownst to us, Pittar had clearly been inspired by her story – and its reception – and wrote this young adult novel.

IFWG acquired the rights to publish The Carbonite’s Daughter on the strength of the novel, not the source of Pittar’s inspiration. The story has many fresh elements to it, including its setting in New Zealand, and the science fiction/post apocalyptic/dystopian themes. The female protagonist is strong and believable, and the subject matter is raw and introspective on society today.

To lead or to breed? Calista has this choice, but before she can make a decision she needs to leave the protection of the tunnels and chance her life outside, where radiation kills and people wither – so she is told. Who can she believe – her father or the MICs (Men In Charge)?

Fear battles with her desire for adventure, and if she stays another insemination looms.

Set in dystopian New Zealand, post a Nuclear Dawn, this is a story of growth and discovery and the realisation that things aren’t always as they seem.

The Carbonite’s Daughter is available in ebook and print formats from all quality online and bricks and mortar stores.

Bundle Offer: The Complete Reforging Series by Barbara Howe

IFWG has just released the final of Barbara Howe’s Reforging series, The Forge, and to celebrate this release, as well as the conclusion of this masterful young adult series, we are offering to ship the five books to purchasers, anywhere in the world(*), until the end of January 2022.

What makes Howe’s Reforging so special is the mix of detailed world-building in an alt-historical Europe, combined with strong and realistic female protagonists. She has stated on more than one occasion that she wrote the books so that she could read them to her daughter without cringing at how female characters are portrayed in fantasy novels. IFWG bought the rights to this series on the strength of this, but also because Howe is a superb writer and clearly her books would be enjoyed by mature readers as well.

The five novels are:

  1. The Locksmith
  2. Engine of Lies
  3. The Blacksmith
  4. The Wordsmith
  5. The Forge