News: Release of Chap-eBook, ‘Impounded’ by Paula Boer

It is with pleasure that IFWG Publishing Australia releases its first Chap-eBook, a short story titled ‘Impounded’ by Paula Boer.

We have added it to the chap-ebook catalog held by IFWG Publishing (International), but this work is written in Australian English, set very much in Australia. It was first published in Angie’s Diary (September 2013), coming second in the writer ezine’s inaugural short story competition. We are proud to reproduce it here, and to showcase in short fiction form the talented writer that Paula Boer is.


The story of the struggle of a barramundi hatchling, bred within the fish farming industry, and escaping into the wild. A lovely short story, with evocative language from the point of view of the courageous animal.

The opening paragraph:

The wet season has arrived in the tropical north-west, a time of destruction and renewal. Nutrient-rich waters flood into the sea, the layers mixing in plumes as the waves churn. Nimbus clouds broil, engulfing the entire sky. Thunder echoes off the sandstone cliffs that stand sentinel to the river openings. Broadened by the floods, the swollen mouths gobble up sandy shores and scrub-filled lowlands, swamping the coast that lay bleached and dehydrated only weeks before.

Additionally, we are impressed with the cover, designed by Elizabeth Lang.

The short story can be purchased for a low US$0.99 in EPUB or PRC (Kindle Compatible) formats.

News: ‘Star Quake 1’ Revealed

As foreshadowed some time ago we will be publishing each year a ‘best of’ anthology of SQ Mag’s fiction.

We are pleased to reveal the title: ‘Star Quake 1, SQ Mag’s Best of 2012’.

The cover will soon be revealed, based on Jeff Doherty’s illustration of SQ Mag Edition 2 (1 May 2012), which we believe was the most impressive of the year.

The Table of Contents

  1. The Narrow Gate – Daniel Pearlman
  2. Down in the Ship Mines – Jay Lake
  3. Woman With Red Hair – Lawrence Buentello
  4. Azurewrath – Esme Carpenter
  5. Rationalised – Larry Hodges
  6. Creeper – Daniel I Russell
  7. Navigator  – Shane Ward
  8. A Debt Called In – Michael B Fletcher
  9. Nullus – Mitchell Edgeworth
  10. Masks – Stephanie Barr
  11. Toy – Gary McMahon
  12. Witness – Laura Haddock
  13. Sunflower – M K Charles
  14. CSS – Warren Goodwin
  15. Mermithergate Grin – S Marston
  16. The Observer – Hansen Hovell Holladay
  17. The Raptor and the Lion – Larry Ivkovich
  18. The Memory Eater – Holly Day
  19. Spacesuit with No Spaceman – Sergio Palumbo

We anticipate its publication within four weeks.