New Title: Star Quake 1 anthology

We are proud to announce the release of Star Quake 1, SQ Mag’s Best of 2012. It was a long time coming but we are excited by the quality of production, as well as the stellar group of contributing authors, including Jay Lake, Gary McMahon, Daniel I Russell and

The anthology is released in print, Kindle, NOOK Book and Kobo Book formats, and should turn up in all quality online stores over the next several days.

Full details is contained in our Current Titles page for Star Quake 1.

All post-cost profits go to author royalties and the running of SQ Mag. Worthy causes indeed.


A great big thank-you to Jeffery E Doherty for his artwork and cover design. It was his work for SQ Mag 2 (1 May 2012) that was chosen among the 5 for 2012 that got it here.

News: ‘Star Quake 1’ Revealed

As foreshadowed some time ago we will be publishing each year a ‘best of’ anthology of SQ Mag’s fiction.

We are pleased to reveal the title: ‘Star Quake 1, SQ Mag’s Best of 2012’.

The cover will soon be revealed, based on Jeff Doherty’s illustration of SQ Mag Edition 2 (1 May 2012), which we believe was the most impressive of the year.

The Table of Contents

  1. The Narrow Gate – Daniel Pearlman
  2. Down in the Ship Mines – Jay Lake
  3. Woman With Red Hair – Lawrence Buentello
  4. Azurewrath – Esme Carpenter
  5. Rationalised – Larry Hodges
  6. Creeper – Daniel I Russell
  7. Navigator  – Shane Ward
  8. A Debt Called In – Michael B Fletcher
  9. Nullus – Mitchell Edgeworth
  10. Masks – Stephanie Barr
  11. Toy – Gary McMahon
  12. Witness – Laura Haddock
  13. Sunflower – M K Charles
  14. CSS – Warren Goodwin
  15. Mermithergate Grin – S Marston
  16. The Observer – Hansen Hovell Holladay
  17. The Raptor and the Lion – Larry Ivkovich
  18. The Memory Eater – Holly Day
  19. Spacesuit with No Spaceman – Sergio Palumbo

We anticipate its publication within four weeks.